Community Alliances

Across Colorado, local leaders have forged alliances, strengthening local health systems through collaborative strategies, breaking down silos to accelerate change. Each is different, but all share a common goal: Increased access to care and improved population health. Since mid-2012 the Colorado Coalition for the Medically Underserved has convened these alliances through the Colorado Network of Health Alliances.[1]

These collaborative efforts reduce local duplication of services and increase the long-term sustainability of projects to improve community health. They also promote health equity, working to reduce disparities in access to and quality of health care.

The work aligns with RMHP’s approach as a Regional Accountability Entity (RAE). We want all organizations in our community to collaborate more closely. No single entity can achieve broad-based transformation on its own.

Colorado’s health alliances are part of many statewide reform initiatives that play out at the community level. During the rollout of the Affordable Care Act, many alliances became enrollment sites for Connect for Health Colorado. Some are RAE contractors.

These efforts align with what’s going on elsewhere in the state. For example, The Colorado Health Foundation launched BC3 — for “Better Care, Better Costs, Better Colorado.” It focuses on community-level collaboration to address health care costs through delivery system and payment reform. This “collective impact” approach involves a shared commitment among partners to the same goals and outcomes and a commitment to align their work in order to achieve the greatest collective success.

Our goal at RMHP is to coordinate with these alliances--and other stakeholders—as we partner to create an accountable community that empowers patients to take charge of their health. Learn more about the alliances by clicking on the links for each community health alliance.


Community Alliances

Pitkin, Garfield and Eagle counties
PItkin County
Dolores, San Miguel and Uncompahgre River Basin regions
Grand, Jackson, Moffat, Rio Blanco and Routt counties